Press Track Info Events Points Kids Club Media Partners Rules Contact Hall of Fame
  .: 2010 Season Results :.

Kisling A Repeater at Rice Lake Speedway

By Ed Reichert

RICE LAKE, WI (May 15) - Shane Kisling became the first repeat winner in racing action Saturday at Rice Lake Speedway and the track completed its third program of the 2010 race season. Other winners included Mike Anderson in the WISSOTA Modifieds, Shane Halopka in the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, Chanda Fjorden Nord in the WISSOTA Street Stocks and Nick Wojcik in the Pure Stocks - each first winners of the season at Rice Lake.

Andy Grymala and Scott Clark battled in the early laps of the WISSOTA Super Stock finale before Grymala established himself as the leader. Both Kisling and Aaron Wilson were on the move from the drop of the green; Kisling quickly moved up from the fourth row by using the high side of the track. With Wilson in tow, Kisling powered past Ben Hillman, Scott Zitelman and Clark then closed on Grymala for the lead.

After a spin on lap three bunched the field, Kisling raced off the high side and blew past Grymala for the top spot while Wilson grabbed second. One more yellow after hard contact between Johnny Emerson and Chad Tarvis bunched the field, but Kisling again pulled away and established a rather comfortable lead. The win was Kisling’s second of the weekend and second consecutive at Rice Lake. Wilson maintained second over Hillman while Clark had a good run in fourth and Grymala hung on for a top five with a deflating tire.

Anderson was probably the most surprised person in the house when he accepted the checkered flag for winning the WISSOTA Modified feature; most of the race Kevin Adams was so far out in front, he was in a different area code. Anderson was the early leader, but Adams blew past him following a lap two restart when Brent Prochnow spun. Adams gradually increased his advantage until he was a straightaway ahead of the field. Anderson was also alone in second while Doug Gustafson, Scott Miller, Scott Duval and Prochnow fought for position.

With only a few laps left and a huge lead in hand, Adams suddenly started to throttle back, then pulled into the infield with three laps to go. The culprit was a broken U-joint that eventually caused the driveshaft to disengage. A shocked Anderson found himself in the lead while Duval, who had gradually worked his way into third and tracked down Anderson, made several hard dives during the final laps to steal the win. Anderson, however, maintained his line and held off Duval and Gustafson. Gustafson was later disqualified for a safety violation which elevated Prochnow to third in the order.

Clark Swartz led the early laps of the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature, an event that was stopped just once for an early race spin. While Swartz showed the way, he was challenged by Shane Halopka. Halopka was flying and he drove past Swartz to take over the lead and pull away from the field. Swartz was then locked in a three way battle with Tyler Viltz and Matt Leer, who had charged up from the sixth row.

They went three wide for the position and Leer and Viltz split Swartz down the chutes. Viltz then tried to hold off Leer but Leer was too quick and secured the spot. Leer then tried to track down Halopka, but Halopka was in the groove and he drove to his second feature win of the weekend. Viltz held on to third ahead of Swartz and Mark Thomas.

The WISSOTA Street Stock finale featured some excellent battles; Doug Wojcik took the initial lead while Joel Hinrichs and Chanda Fjorden Nord closed in on him. An early yellow slowed the action after Simon Wahlstrom and Jimmy Randall tangled. When racing resumed, Fjorden Nord drove past Wojcik for the lead. Danny Richards, Zach Manley and Tommy Richards created plenty of excitement and they fought to get to the front while Randall made a charge to the front after being sent to the rear.

Fjorden Nord had a fairly comfortable lead while the race for second continued to be scrambled on nearly every lap. Randall ran exceptionally well on the high side and he completed his run to the front when he passed Danny Richards after a wheel to wheel duel to secure second with only a couple of laps left. Sam Fankhauser also put on a charge of his own; he fought his way up to fourth at the finish ahead of Wojcik.

The Pure Stocks also put on an excellent main event with only a single yellow flag slowdown. Brandon Davis took the green first but John Erickson quickly moved up from the second row to grab the lead, however, he was replaced by Nick Traynor, but Traynor was under the gun from Nick Wojcik. Wojcik completed a charge from the fourth row and took over the top spot while George Richards and Jason Havel were also on the move.

Richards moved into the runner up slot, closed on Wojcik during the waning laps, but Wojcik held his line and fought off Richards by a car length for the win. Havel, replacing Dusty Brown for the night, finished a strong third with Erickson and Traynor completing the first five.

Next Saturday, May 22, will mark the first special event of the year and the first for the new ownership team of Adams-Hansen, Inc. Along with the regular five division program, the winged outlaw sprints of the IRA series will be on hand. Thirty or more of the sprints will take to the Rice Lake oval representing several states. Time trials are slated for around 6:30 p.m. for the sprints with racing to follow.

On May 29 and 30 there will be doubleheader racing in celebration of the Memorial Day weekend. A full show in all five classes will be run both nights, and for the first time this season and the first time in the last two years, the WISSOTA Late Models will join the program on Sunday; the area's best drivers are expected to be on hand to battle it out. Race time both nights will be 6:30 p.m.


WISSOTA Modifieds
Feature - Mike Anderson, Scott Duval, Brent Prochnow, Scott Miller, Dave Mayala, Dave Baxter, Kevin Adams, Craig Thatcher
Heat 1 - Adams, Miller, Mark Hanson, Anderson, Baxter, Kenny Kincaid
Heat 2 - Thatcher, Doug Gustafson, Duval, Prochnow, Mayala
WISSOTA Super Stocks
Feature - Shane Kisling, Aaron Wilson, Ben Hillman, Scott Clark, Andy Grymala, Scott Zitelman, Jim Harris, Cory Davis, Marcel Hoaglan, Jeff Heintz, Donnie Talmage, Robbie Cooper, Mike Siewert, Allen Amborn, Johnny Emerson, Chad Tarvis, Steve Van House
Heat 1 - Wilson, Harris, Zitelman, Clark, Heintz, Amborn, Tarvis, Van House, Cooper
Heat 2 - Kisling, Grymala, Hoaglan, Hillman, Davis, Talmage, Emerson, Siewert
WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds
Feature - Shane Halopka, Matt Leer, Tyler Viltz, Clark Swartz, Mark Thomas, Mark Turner, Ryan Viltz, Brad Hudson, Bryce Johnson, Nick Koehler, Deven Van House, Josh Smith, Jonny Hentges, Terry Sirek, Grant Southworth, Joe Olson
Heat 1 - Halopka, Southworth, Hudson, Turner, Johnson, Leer, Olson, Van House, Alan Broker
Heat 2 - T. Viltz, R. Viltz, Thomas, Swartz, Sirek, Hentges, Koehler, Smith

WISSOTA Street Stocks
Feature - Chanda Fjorden Nord, Jimmy Randall, Danny Richards, Sam Fankhauser, Doug Wojcik, Joel Hinrichs, Jason Lang, Simon Wahlstrom, Dan Bork, Josh Amans, Marcus Simonson, Zach Manley, Tommy Richards,
Heat 1 - Randall, Fjorden Nord, Wahlstrom, Wojcik, Simonson, Bork, Fankhauser
Heat 2 - D. Richards, Hinrichs, Lang, T. Richards, Manley
Pure Stocks
Feature - Nick Wojcik, George Richards, Jason Havel, John Erickson, Nick Traynor, Kyle Hunter, Bob Thompson, Brandon Davis, Jay Folz, Josh Rud, Josh Bach, Bob Wahlstrom, Josh Buckridge
Heat 1 - Erickson, Richards, Havel, Traynor, Bach, Rud, Wahlstrom
Heat 2 - Wojcik, Folz, Thompson, Davis; Buckridge