Press Track Info Events Points Kids Club Media Partners Rules Contact Hall of Fame
  .: 2012 Season Results :.

Forehand and Havel Top Rice Lake Thursday Special

By Ed Reichert

RICE LAKE, WI (August 16) – The WISSOTA Super Stocks and Pure Stocks ran along with the USMTS Modified special Thursday night at the Rice Lake Speedway with Jason Forehand and Jason Havel claiming the feature wins. The feature wins for both drivers were their third of the season at Rice Lake. The USMTS portion of the program was won by Joey Jensen of Forest Lake MN.

Nineteen cars took Randy Davis’ green flag for the Super Stock main, with Forehand and Ben Hillman immediately battling it out for the lead. They raced side by side with Steve Thomas slipping into third while Scott Lawrence and Shane Kisling were both on the move.

Forehand continued to battle side by side with Hillman edging ahead on the high side by then Forehand swapped spots on the track with Hillman and moved right back beside him. The field stacked up in turn two with six laps complete, triggering the first yellow flag of the event.

The battle for the lead continued on the restart but Forehand was then able to edge in front and open up a car length lead. Kisling moved in to challenge Hillman for second, and Shane edged ahead for the spot until he briefly lost control in turn four and Hillman moved back past him. Eric Olson was on the move after starting in the fifth row, and he moved in to challenge the leaders along with Aaron Wilson.

The last half of the race ran nonstop with Forehand continuing to hold the lead while Hillman and Kisling chased him hard. Hillman made one last charge on the final circuit but he came up a car length short as Forehand drove home for the win. Kisling finished a close third with Olson and Thomas next in line.

Jay Folz started on the pole and led the first eight laps of the Pure Stock feature with a host of drivers challenging him for the front spot. First John Erickson applied heavy pressure with Chad Eastman and then Jason Havel moving in to challenge. Havel was on the move after starting fifth and he took second from Erickson and closed on the leaders.

Havel was able to get to the inside of Folz and they raced side by side down the front chute before Havel was able to edge in front. One lap later the lone yellow flag flew for a spin by Eastman after he and Darwin Brown got together.

Havel took off on the green and was able to open up some distance on the rest of the field as he raced home for the win.

Folz held off a hard challenge from Erickson to finish second with Eastman next in line. Rookie Jimmy Holden lost a top five finish when he spun in the final corner and Bob Thompson was able to motor past him.

Racing action continues Saturday night, August 18th with a five class program that will be the last point show of the 2012 racing season with champions in all classes determined. Race time is 6:30 p.m.


WISSOTA Super Stocks
20 lap Feature – Jason Forehand(Eau Claire), Ben Hillman(Menomonie), Shane Kisling(Sarona), Eric Olson(Ladysmith), Steve Thomas(Menomonie), Aaron Wilson(Eau Claire), Brad Edington(Elk Mound), Gunnar Watkins(Elk Mound), Scott Lawrence(Superior), Tommy Richards(Mondovi), Cory Davis, Luke Plank, Marcus Simonson, Terry Kroening, Ryan Olson, Jeff Heintz, Larry Fitzsimmons, Wayne Harris Jr, Bart Steffen
10 lap Heat 1 – Hillman, R.Olson(Chippewa Falls), Watkins, Kroening(Colby), Edington, Fitzsimmons, Davis
Heat 2 – Kisling, Lawrence, Forehand, Harris Jr(Bloomer), Richards, Simonson
Heat 3 – E. Olson, Thomas, Wilson, Steffen(Eau Claire), Plank(Eau Claire), Heintz

Pure Stocks
12 lap Feature – Jason Havel(Rice Lake), Jay Folz(Rice Lake), John Erickson(Cameron), Chad Eastman(Rice Lake), Bob Thompson(Cameron), C.J. Wagner(Hayward), Cooper Berlin(Rice Lake), Randy Graham(Trego), Dustin LaBlonde(Bruce), Andrew Conklin(Ladysmith), Jimmy Holden, Darwin Brown, Brandon Davis, Joel Hinrichs
8 lap Heat 1 – Havel, Eastman, Folz, Brown(Cumberland), Thompson, Wagner, LaBlonde
Heat 2 – Holden(Rice Lake), Hinrichs(Chetek), Erickson, Berlin, Graham, Conklin, Davis